Ferndown Golf Club

Mens Annual Dinner and Trophy Presentation

Men's Annual Dinner and Trophy Presentation

Last Friday saw the Men's Annual Dinner and Trophy Presentation take place, and 105 of our male members came to the club for an evening of food and entertainment which included a number of them collecting prizes for their achievements over the last year. The evening began with Grace by Club President Stan Randall followed by a delicately put together Prawn Cocktail. This was followed by MC for the evening Ian Walton beginning with some awards to the Team Captains from the past year. Jay Randall was first to receive a trophy after he captained the Millennium League to victory this season subsequently, thanks were given to Nick Hopwood (Hardy A Captain), Derek Gill (Hardy B Captain) and lastly Phil Bill who has been First Team Captain for the last 3 years, after a successful time at the reigns Phil has decided to step down and he was thanked by his First Team players with some thoughtful gifts which included an Online Lesson with a Canadian PGA Tour Coach. 

Jay Randall with the Millennium League Trophy
Phil Bill 1st Team Captain

After these were handed out, our General Manager continued with the prize giving, and a full selection of photos can be seen at the bottom of this article. Prizes were handed out in between the wonderful dinner service that was put together by Will and his Catering Team who did a fantastic job. Greg and the Bar Team ensured everyone's needs were catered for throughout the evening and helped ensure that the evening would run smoothly. Some of the major trophy winners from the year included Harry Mitchell who won the Scratch Matchplay, Bob Suggett winner of the Evans Bowl and lastly Mat Lafferty who won the Presidents Cup.

Harry Mitchell Scratch Matchplay Winner
Bob Suggett Evans Bowl Winner
Mat Lafferty Presidents Cup Winner


With the Prize Giving finished, the evening concluded with After Dinner Speaker Tony Husband, famous for South Today and Match of the Day Commentary, and he gave everyone a great insight to the perks of his job and some of the great events he has witnessed through his career in sport including some very famous TV interviews with certain Football Managers. It was a great way to conclude the evening and all the male members were thoroughly entertained. 

A big thankyou must go out to everyone who helped the night run so smoothly such as Will and his Catering Team, Greg and the Bar Staff, Sue and Ian in the Office and of course all the members who were thoroughly well behaved from start to finish. 

Photos will follow of the remaining trophy winners:

Colin and Jay Randell Father and Child Winners
Colin Randell Bruce Flack Winner
Dennis Woodgate Leslie Wood Bowl











Jim Shiels Ben Harrison Memorial Winner
Derek Silk Richards Cup Winner
Jack Marsh Webb Cup Winner















Joe Swaine and Phil Bill Burdon Jackson Winners
John Campbell Cavaliero Cup Winner
Nick Hopwood Spitfire Trophy Winner















Peter Nice Veterans Cup Winner
Sean Frampton Somerville Cup Winner
Phil Bill Finlay Cup Winner















Steve Harman Webb Cup Winner
Steve Harman and Martyn Jones Wessex Salver Winners














Tony Husband After Dinner Speaker

Photos will also be uploaded to the clubs Flickr account. 


Written by Joe Swaine
Marketing Intern








Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.